choices choices

Uncategorized

Last Thursday I had a tutorial with JC re. the virtual exhibition project. I know I have not spent nearly enough time thinking about it (not that I have anything like adequate time), but the two ideas that I ended up with are: a selection of portraits with red as the predominant colour and a gallery of portraits depicting old/aging women. Both ideas seem to have some merit: the red portrait idea can be discussed in terms of the colour meaning and symbolism (and I can include my favourite portrait of the moment – W Lewis’ picture of Froanna, 1937) while the collection of images of aged women could be seen as an investigation of the change in the role of the woman (up to last 100 years or so artists would have very few reasons to paint/draw old women unless they were their mothers or wives or were to add flavour to character sketches (e.g. da Vinci’s grotesques).

Leave a Reply

